Skip to main content

Independent Study

Traveling during the school year?

Attending class each day is the best way to ensure your child receives the maximum opportunity for learning.  If your child will be missing 5 or more consecutive days of school parents must call the school and request an Independent Study Packet at least one week in advance.  The advance notice allows teachers to put together assignments your child must complete in order to earn credit while they are out of school.  All work must be complete and turned into their 1st period teacher by the due date outlined on the contract itself.  

Description of Excused Absences

 

Under state law and MUSD board policy, excused absences include the following:

1.       illness or injury of student.

2.       student attendance at his/her medical, dental, optometry, or chiropractic appointment, and providing a note from the doctor or medical office upon return to school. (State of California Education Code).

3.       student attendance at a funeral service of an immediate family member.

4.       a quarantine imposed by a city of county health official.

5.       time off to acquire immunization (up to 5 days).

6.       exclusion from school due to head lice, lack of immunizations, or physical examination.

7.       appearance in court.

8.       observance of a religious holiday or ceremony.

9.       participation in a conference or interview.

Attendance

MUSD / MJHS Attendance Policy

Absences must be cleared within 72 hours, or the absence will be marked unexcused.
 
To clear an absence:
 
By phone:  Please call (925) 335-5820 and press 3 for the attendance office.  
                             be sure to leave your name, your child's name, and the date and reason for the absence.
 
By email:   Please send an email to: mjhsattendance@martinez.k12.ca.us
                 Be sure to include the following information in writing 
 
Student’s Name (please spell last name)
Your Name and Relation to Student
Date(s) of Absence
Reason for Absence
 
What to do if a student arrives to school late:
 
Students arriving on campus after 8:30 but before 8:40 am should go directly to their first period class.  Their first period teacher will mark them tardy on the roll sheet.
 
Students arriving on campus after 8:40 am should report to the MAIN OFFICE to check in and receive a tardy pass.  These students should have a signed note from their parent stating the reason for the tardy.
 
Students arriving late, leaving early or leaving for part of the day due to medical appointments should return to school with a note from the medical office indicating the appointment time.  As per MUSD School Board Policy, when students reach their 9th illness absence a Doctor's note is required or the absence will be marked unexcused.  
 
 
How to request an early release for your child:
 
Parents wishing to obtain an early release for their child should call (925) 335-5820 and press 3 to connect to the attendance office and speak with the Attendance Clerk between the hours of 8:30 am and 4:00 pm.  Calls before or after that time can be left on the Attendance voice mail.
 
 
 
California Education Code 48260:
 
(a) Any pupil subject to compulsory full-time education or to compulsory continuation education who is absent from school without valid excuse three full days in one year or tardy or absent for more than any 30-minute period during the school day without a valid excuse on three occasions in one school year, or any combination thereof, is a truant and shall be reported to the attendance supervisor or to the superintendent of the school district.